RIP James Avery (aka Uncle Phil)

James Avery passed away on the 1st at the age of 68. It’s sad for me personally because he played Uncle Phil in my favorite show of all time, “The Fresh Prince of Bel Air.” Although it’s mostly a comedy (AWESOME comedy) there are some gems that make me “have the feels” and for me those were the best episodes. In honor of James Avery, here’s one that I think was one of the best episodes of Fresh Prince of Bel Air.

The episode, “Papa’s Got a Brand New Excuse,” is from season 4 and in it, Will’s father (who left him and his mother when Will was a kid) suddenly comes back into Will’s life. Will accepts him and forgives him and they start to bond and make plans for a summer away together. However, Uncle Phil is skeptical and doesn’t trust Lou (Will’s father) to follow through with his promises. He makes his opinion known to both Will and Lou causing a fight between Will and Uncle Phil where Will yells “Who cares what you think?! You are not my father!!” Later, there is some measure of reconciliation between Will and Uncle Phil and Will’s getting ready to leave for the summer with his father with Uncle Phil’s blessing. The clip in the link is one of the most touching moments in all of the seasons of the show  and everytime I watch it I get the feels. It’s a huge reminder of aspects of fatherhood, a depiction of brokenness resulting from abandonment, and a reminder to be thankful that I have a father on Earth and in Heaven that have been with me and will be with me for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

